The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

POWRi Midgets - Kuhn Wins Last Lap Lunge At Sun Prairie


SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. (Aug. 19, 2012)—Brad Kuhn passed Bryan Clauson on the final lap to win the Miller Lite Cornfest Midget Classic by inches Sunday at Angell Park Speedway in an event tri-sanctioned by the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series, USAC Mopar National Midget and Stark Automotive Group Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.

Kuhn’s victory margin was electronically measured at .019 of a second. It was the 20th of his career in POWRi Midgets, second on the all-time list to Brad Loyet’s 29. The 31-year-old from Avon, Ind., is a two-time (2006-09) POWRi Midget champion.

Kuhn’s Beast-Fontana and Clauson’s Bullet-Toyota exchanged the lead at the finish line in the final two laps. Kuhn ran outside and Clauson inside on the one-third mile track.

“It’s always great to win at Sun Prairie,” Kuhn said. “It was a great battle with Bryan the final few laps. I’m glad I came out on top.”

Kuhn led three times for 17 of 30 laps. He passed Tracy Hines for the lead on the seventh lap, lost it to Darren Hagen on the 12th and regained it from laps 18 through 28.

Clauson of Noblesville, Ind., was going for his third straight win in POWRi/Badger Midgets. He won at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway on Friday and Macon (Ill.) Speedway on Saturday.

Hagen finished third, followed by Levi Jones and Chris Windom.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Brad Kuhn, 2. Bryan Clauson, 3. Darren Hagen, 4. Levi Jones, 5. Chris Windom, 6. Jerry Coons Jr., 7. Davey Ray, 8. Caleb Armstrong, 9. Zach Daum, 10. Thomas Meseraull, 11. Scott Hatton, 12. Casey Shuman, 13. Mike Hess, 14. Daniel Robinson, 15. Austin Brown, 16. Brandon Waelti, 17. Tyler Thomas, 18. Taylor Ferns, 19. Alex Bright, 20, Bubba Altig, 21. Rico Abreu, 22. Travis Berryhill, 23. Andrew Felker, 24. Tracy Hines.