The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Kevin Cywinski Scores Third Win at ASA Hawkeye Downs 300

14 July 1997

CEDAR RAPIDS, IA - For the second week in a row, Kevin Cywinski held off a bevy of veteran drivers to score his third win of the American Speed Association season Friday in the Hawkeye Downs 300.

On July 4, Cywinski held seven-time champion Mike Eddy and Scott Hansen at bay to win the Wisconsin 300, on Friday he held off Hansen, Gary St Amant and Eddy to score the win.

Starting in third position, Cywinski, in the LaFavre Racing Teams Pontiac, led 132 of the 300 laps around the half-mile Hawkeye Downs Speedway in a nip and tuck battle with the ACDelco Challenge Series veterans.

"These guys are the best drivers," Cywinski said of his fellow competitors. "Last week Mike (Eddy) raced me clean and this week it was Scott (Hansen). Goodyear gave us a great tire. I ran the last 110 laps on the same tires and never considered pitting again. The wins aren't coming easy, but this car is awesome.

Cywinski collected $14,630 for his third win of the 1997 season and his sixth career ASA victory.

St Amant, in the Wynn's/West Michigan Chevy Dealers Monte Carlo took the lead on the first lap from the outside of the front row, but quickly gave way to Hansen in the Ken Schrader Racing Chevrolet with Cywinski running third.

On lap 10 Cywinski went into the lead for the first time chased by Hansen and local favorite Brad Loney in the Bunsaver/Hunter's Specialties/Flexsteel Pontiac. St Amant continued to hold fourth and Mike Miller had brought the GOOp/AFC 1000/Uniseal Pontiac to fifth.

Hansen retook the lead on lap 14 and managed to hold it until lap 85 when the third caution flag of the race sent the leaders into the pits for attention from their crews. Cywinski was first out of the pits, followed by St Amant, Steve Carlson and Ted Smokstad.

Cywinski held the lead until lap 92 when Hansen made the pass coming off turn 2. Hansen then led for the next 9 laps until Cywinski once again took the point and remained out front until lap 130.

When the leaders pitted under caution on lap 131 Rick Beebe kept the St Louis Gear/Royal Machine Pontiac on the track to inherit the lead. Beebe gambled by staying on the track and continued to lead until he was passed by Carlson on lap 198. Closing on The top two, after making final pit stops, were the erstwhile leaders Cywinski, St Amant and Eddy. The leading duo finally headed for the pits on lap 206, under caution, and that put Cywinski back into the lead followed by Hansen, St Amant and the Goodwrench Service/HRE Pontiac of Eddy.

Hansen made several attempts to get under Cywinski in the closing laps as the cars rocketed of turns two and four, but was unable to complete the pass as Cywinski had the power to hold him at bay. Cywinski's winning margin was just .243 seconds in a race slowed by 15 cautions for a total of 91 laps.

The second place finish was the best of the season for Hansen and followed up on the third place finish last week at the Wisconsin 300.

"We came up just a little bit short," Hansen said. At the end of the race the car got a little tight in the corners. We needed a strong run tonight, and now have finally put two together."

Cywinski extended his points margin over St Amant to 226 as the series reached the halfway point of the season. Hansen occupies the third spot in the points 327 markers back of the leader.

The winner of the Wynn's Wynning move was the Leo Motorsports/ Wehr Pontiac for his ninth place finish after starting 22nd on the grid.

The ACDelco Challenge Series travels to LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, WI for the running of the LaCrosse 300 on Sunday July 27th. The race will be televised by TNN on a tape delayed basis at Midnight on the 27th.

John Kaiser -- The Auto Channel

Hawkeye Downs Speedway - Provisional results for the 
ASA ACDelco Challenge Series, 
Hawkeye Downs 300:
Ps.Ql.No.  Driver , Car                                          Laps  
-- -- ---- ----------------------------------------------------- -----
 1  3   1  Kevin Cywinski  Coleman Racing Products          PONT 300       
 2  1  52  Scott Hansen    AFCO Racing Products             PONT 300       
 3  2   7  Gary St Amant   Wynn's/W Michigan Chevy Dealers  CHEV 300       
 4 10  88  Mike Eddy       GM Goodwrench Service/HRE        PONT 300       
 5 15  87  Steve Carlson(R)Baker Enterprises/Clean Burn     PONT 300       
 6  5  33  Brad Loney      Bunsaver/Hunter's Spec/Flexsteel PONT 300       
 7 16  32  Ted Smokstad    Corp. Auto/SMS Parts             PONT 300       
 8 11   5  Steve Holzhausen Structural Transport            FORD 300       
 9 22  55  Tim Sauter (R)  Leo M/S/Wehr/Racing Adventures   PONT 300       
10  8  84  Bob Senneker    Lane Auto/JR Automation/Mr GasketFORD 300       
11  7  23  Rick Beebe      St Louis Gear/Royal Machine      PONT 300       
12 17   6  Dave Sensiba    Engineered Polymer/W MI Auto AuctPONT 300       
13 21  81  Harold Fair     Car Quest/ACDelco/Victor Reinz   PONT 300       
14 24  26  Bill Baird      Spee-Dee Pop Popcorn/Saturn Mach CHEV 300       
15  9  35  Buddy Schrock   Big A Auto Parts/UniDial         CHEV 300       
16 12  48  Joe Nott        Valvoline/Allan Nott Toyota/RaabeFORD 299       
17 25  83  Andy Bozell     DeVrou Chev/Crokkston Poured WallCHEV 299       
18 19  21  Kevin Nuttleman Citgo/Midwest Fuels/Dutch Mill   PONT 299       
19 13  51  Brandon Sperling Sperling Motorsports            CHEV 298       
20 23  72  Junior Hanley   Skillman Motorsports             PONT 298       
21 27  40  Peter Cozzolino McDonalds/Raabe Ford             FORD 297       
22 32  79  Mike Cofer (R)  Black & Decker Versa Pack        PONT 296       
23 29  95  Chuck Hemmingston Rodeway Inn                    PONT 295       
24 31   0  Tom Jones       Jones Motorsports                PONT 295       
25 30  47  Paul Paine      Paine Racing                     PONT 294       
26 14   8  Mike Garvey     AFCO Racing Products             PONT 282       
27  6  07  Jack Landis     Adirondak/Lyndaker/Maisto/N.YoderFORD 257       
28 33  93  Alec Pinsonneault Build-A-Mold/Trimplas/Moldplas PONT 245       
29  4  18  Mike Miller     South East Air Service           PONT 191       
30 28  43  Curt Martin     Team 17                          FORD 158       
31 20  03  Johnny Spaw     Mid-West Plumbing/Clemnet TrailerPONT 111       
32 26  64  Ricky Bilderback Bilderback Auto Parts           PONT 107       
33 34  58  Billy Turner    Sanifill/Central Fiber           PONT  30       
34 18  56  Brett Bell      Wunder-Bar/Red Line Oil          FORD  14       
(R)= Pat Schauer Memorial Rookie Candidate
Time of Race      : 2 hrs 16 min 47 secs
Average Speed     : 53.624 mph
Margin of Victory : .243 secs
Lap Leaders       : St Amant, Hansen, Cywinski, Beebe, Carlson
Cautions          : 15 for 91 laps
Track Length      :  0.5000 Miles

1. Kevin Cywinski          1822
2. CarySt Amant            1596 (-226)
3. Scott Hansen            1495 (-327)
4. Rick Beebe              1470 (-352)
5. Steve Carlson           1448 (-374)
6. Dave Sensiba            1446 (-376)
7. Mike Miller             1399 (-423)
8. Harold Fair             1347 (-475)
9. Mike Eddy               1316 (-506)
10.Tim Sauter              1269 (-553)