The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

NASCAR BGN Gateway 300 Fact Sheet

20 July 1997

                           RACE FACTS

WHAT: Gateway 300
      NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division Race #20 of 30

WHERE: Gateway International Speedway
       Madison, IL
       1.25-Mile Paved Oval

WHEN: Saturday, July 26, 1997
       12:00 pm (CDT)

DISTANCE: 240 Laps (300 Miles)


FIELD: 42 cars. Fastest 38 cars through time trials. Up to five provisional
starting positions, including four based on 1997 NBS owner points and one
for a former champion of the NBS.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Gateway International Motorsports Corporation

TV: CBS (Live)
    Air time: 12:00 pm (CDT)
    Announcers: Ken Squier, Ned Jarrett, and Buddy Baker
    Pit Reporters: Dick Berggren and Ralph Sheheen

       Air time : 11:45 am (CDT)
       Announcers: Allen Bestwick and Joe Moore


 Thursday, July 24
              7:00 am : NASCAR Garage Opens
              8:00 am : Mandatory Drivers' meeting
   11:00 am - 4:30 pm : Alternating Practice Sessions

 Friday, July 25
              7:00 am : NASCAR Garage Opens
              8:00 am : Qualifying Draw
      8:30 - 10:00 am : Practice
  11:00 am - 12:00 pm : Practice
              2:00 pm : Qualifying (All Positions)

 Saturday, July 26
              8:00 am : NASCAR Garage Opens
             10:00 am : Drivers' & Crew Chiefs' Meeting
             12:11 pm : Start of Gateway 300


Qualifying: First NBS event at this venue.
Race: First NBS event at this venue.

THE RACE: The Gateway International Raceway is a 1.25-mile paved oval with
11 degrees banking in turns 1 and 2 and 9 degrees banking in turns 3 and 4.
The length of the frontstretch is 1,922 feet and the length of the
backstretch is 1,976 feet. This will be the first NASCAR Busch Series Grand
National Series event held at Gateway International Raceway and first in the
state of Illinois.
PARTICIPATING AWARDS SPONSORS: Anheuser-Busch, Inc., AE Clevite, Aeroquip,
Autolite Spark Plugs, Champion Spark Plugs, Competition Cam, Edelbrock
Intake Manifolds, Fram Oil Filters, Ford Motor Corporation, Gatorade,
Goodyear Tires & Belts & Hoses, Griffin Mufflers, Goody's, Holley
Carburetors, JE Pistons, Jesel Rocker Arms, Kar Products, Lincoln Electric,
MCI, Moog Chassis Parts, Moroso Blue Max Ignition Wires, Motorsports
Designs, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks, Precision Gear, Raybestos Brakes,
Richmond Gear, Simpson Helmets, STP Oil Treatment & Oil Filters, Unocal 76
Gasoline, Vantare, Winston Cup Scene, Wiseco Pistons, Wix Filters.