The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Ross and Clark Claim Late Model Wins at IRP

21 July 1997


Brian Ross of Plymouth, Ind., easily won the Clark Super 75 at
Indianapolis Raceway Park tonight.  Ross, driving for Liberty Sound &
Electronic, led all but the first two laps of event, beating second
place finisher Chet Fillip by nearly the length of the frontstretch.
The win was Ross' second in the inaugural season for the Kendall
Indiana Late Model Championship Series; he collected his first victory
at Anderson Speedway.

Fillip's second place finish was his second in three nights at IRP.
He finished behind Hinckley & Schmitt Sprint Challenge winner David
Steele Wednesday night, July 16, in USAC Stoops Freightliner Sprint
competition as well.

The Clark Super 75 was a much cleaner race than the first KILMC event
at IRP, which was the Circle City 75 on June 20.  Only seven of the 24
starters finished that event, but 18 completed the Clark Super 75.

Kenny Tweedy, winner of the Circle City 75 and points leader prior to
tonight's event, finished sixth.  He now shares the points lead with
fifth-place finisher Brian Rievley.

Inclement weather forced Clark Super 75 qualifying to be cancelled, so
the starting lineup was determined according to the pointstandings.

Bobby Diehl of Tampa, Fla., set on the pole for the American Race
Truck feature and won the race in one of the closest, most exciting
finishes in IRP history.  Diehl was pressured by second place finisher
Bruce Hartlep for most of the race.  Hartlep almost overtook Diehl on
the last lap, and the two kept bumping into one another around the
third and fourth turns on the last lap.  Diehl nosed Hartlep by less
than a truck length at the finish, however.

Tom Bombard of South Lyon, Mich., endured a violent flip down the
frontstretch on Lap 17, but was unhurt.

The next event at Indianapolis Raceway Park is the Clark Midget Series
on Wednesday, July 23, featuring the USAC National Midgets.  Good
seats are still available for the upcoming NASCAR Craftsman Truck and
Busch Grand National races.  Call IRP at (317) 291-4090 for more

Results for "Clark Super 75" Kendall Indiana Late Model Championship
Series, Indianapolis Raceway Park, July 21, 1997:

Kendall Late Model Qualifying: Was not completed due to rain.

Kendall Last Chance Race: 1. Dave Jackson; 2. Glenn Gault; 3. Jeff
Lane; 4. Roland Issacs; 5. Chad Bland; 6. Tony Ridner; 7. Larry
Meadors; 8. Jeff Foltz; 9. Jerry Cook; 10. Chet Blanton; 11. Orie

Clark Super 75: 1. Brian Ross; 2. Chet Fillip; 3. Jim Crabtree;
4. Rick Turner; 5. Brian Rievley; 6. Kenny Tweedy; 7. Matt Hagans;
8. Bland; 9. Dave Jackson; 10. Issacs; 11. Royce Mason; 12. Gault;
13. Meadors; 14. Lane; 15. Foltz; 16. J. R. Roahrig; 17. Josh Clemons;
18. Scott Neal; 19. Bull Baker; 20. Ridner; 21. Rich Segvich; 22. Ray
Skillman; 23. William Medford; 24. Ken Weaver

American Race Truck Qualifying: 1. Bobby Diehl; 2. Danny Morelock;
3. Bruce Hartlep; 4. Tom Bambard; 5. Pete Moceri; 6. Greg Dillion;
7. Paul Grynewicz; 8. Mickey Kempgens; 9. Bob Franklin; 10. Danny May;
11. Scott Dillion; 12. Brandon Fagin; 13. Jeff Rice; 14. John Miller;
15. Steve Davies; 16. Chet Blanton; 17. Morris Coffman; 18. James
Glover; 19. A. J. Henriksen; 20. Robert Yoho

American Race Truck Feature: 1. Diehl; 2. Hartlep; 3. Moceri;
4. Grynewicz; 5. May; 6. Franklin; 7. Glover; 8. Rice; 9. Coffman;
10. Lutz; 11. Kempgens; 12. G. Dillion; 13. Fagin; 14. Blanton;
15. Bambard; 16. S. Dillion; 17. Langhals; 18. Yoho; 19. Henriksen