The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

NASCAR BGN Series Kroger 200 -- Fact Sheet

29 July 1997

                           RACE FACTS

WHAT: Kroger 200
      NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division Race #21 of 30

WHERE: Indianapolis Raceway Park
       Clermont, IN
       0.686-Mile Paved Speedway

WHEN: Friday, August 1, 1997
        8:00 pm (EDT)

DISTANCE: 200 Laps (137.2 Miles)


FIELD: 39 cars. Fastest 34 cars through time trials. Up to five provisional
starting positions, including four based on 1997 NBS owner points and one for
a former champion of the NBS.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Indianapolis Raceway Park

TV: ESPN (Live)
    Air time: 8:00 pm (EDT)
    Announcers: TBA
    Pit Reporters: TBA

       Air time : 7:45 pm (EDT)
       Announcers: Allen Bestwick and Joe Moore


 Thursday, July 31
              6:00 am : Team Haulers Enter
              7:00 am : NASCAR Garage Opens
             10:30 am : Rookie Drivers' Meeting
             10:30 am : Qualifying Draw
      12:30 - 1:30 pm : Practice
       2:30 - 3:30 pm : Practice
              5:45 pm : Qualifying (Positions 1-25)

 Friday, August 1
             11:00 am : NASCAR Garage Opens
      12:00 - 1:00 pm : Practice
              2:00 pm : Qualifying (Positions 26-34)
              6:00 pm : Drivers' & Crew Chiefs' Meeting
              8:10 pm : Start of Kroger 200


Qualifying: David Green; Owensboro, KY; Chevrolet; 113.461 mph;
            21.766 seconds; 8/4/94

Race: Jimmy Hensley; Ridgeway, VA; Oldsmobile; 96.923 mph;
      1 hour, 24 minutes, 56 seconds; 6/22/85

THE RACE: The Indianapolis Raceway Park is a 0.686-mile paved oval with 6
degrees banking in turn one, 8 degrees banking in turn two and 7 degrees
banking in turns three and four. The length of the front and backstretches
are 699 feet each with 3 degrees banking. IRP has hosted the Kroger 200
since 1982. The Kroger 200 is the only race on the NASCAR Busch Series that
has had the same sponsor for all 16 seasons.
PARTICIPATING AWARDS SPONSORS: Anheuser-Busch, Inc., AE Clevite, Aeroquip,
Autolite Spark Plugs, Champion Spark Plugs, Competition Cam, Edelbrock
Intake Manifolds, Fram Oil Filters, Ford Motor Corporation, Gatorade,
Goodyear Tires & Belts & Hoses, Griffin Mufflers, Goody's, Holley
Carburetors, JE Pistons, Jesel Rocker Arms, Kar Products, Lincoln Electric,
MCI, Moog Chassis Parts, Moroso Blue Max Ignition Wires, Motorsports
Designs, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks, Precision Gear, Raybestos Brakes,
Richmond Gear, Simpson Helmets, STP Oil Treatment & Oil Filters, Unocal 76
Gasoline, Vantare, Winston Cup Scene, Wiseco Pistons, Wix Filters.