The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

ASA ACDelco Challenge Series Michigan 300: Report, Results, Standings

11 August 1997

Marne, MI - Rick Beebe drove the St Louis Gear/Royal Machine Pontiac under veteran Mike Eddy in turn 2 with eight laps remaining and then completed the pass as the two cars exited turn three to grab his first career American Speed Association, ACDelco Challenge Series win in the Michigan 300 at Berlin Raceway, Marne, MI. Dave Sensiba took advantage of the hole created by Beebe's move to put the West Michigan Auto Auction/MC Sports Pontiac in second with Eddy finishing third in the GM Goodwrench Service/HRE Pontiac.

"It hasn't sunk in yet," said Beebe after the race. "The crew worked hard and we had great pit stops. I'm glad to finally win one for these guys. I knew Mike (Eddy) had a strong car at the end, but I think his tires were gone and I wanted to get a run at him without lapped traffic. Eddy was one of my heroes growing up. He raced me clean at the end. This is my biggest thrill in racing to date."

Beebe collected $13,930 for the win and moved up to third place in the points standings behind Kevin Cywinski and Gary St Amant.

At the start of the 300 lap grind, pole sitter Tim Sauter jumped into the lead and was able to hold it until lap 35 when Beebe assumed the point for the first time. Dennis Berry took over the lead on the 91st lap and maintained the position until the leaders all headed for the pits under caution on lap 96. Gary St Amant held the point following the first round of pit stops until Sensiba was able to get around him on lap 116. On lap 137 Eddy took his first turn at setting the pace and continued to lead until lap 213 when Harold Fair took the point.

Fair continued to lead, followed by Brandon Sperling and Joe Bush as they stayed on the track during a caution to maintain track position. Eddy, Scott Hansen, Beebe and Sensiba were slicing through the field and by the 230th lap Eddy had reassumed the point with Fair holding on to second, Hansen in third, Beebe fourth and Sensiba fifth.

The final caution of the race came out on lap 251 when Fred Ricart spun and again the leaders eschewed pit stops to maintain track position. For the next 32 laps Eddy stayed on the point as he weaved his way through lapped traffic. Beebe and Sensiba were able to get around both Hansen and Fair, while from further back in the pack, Mike Miller was making a late race charge and by lap 280 he was up to fourth ahead of Fair.

With eight laps remaining Beebe made his move inside Eddy and Sensiba followed him through to complete the eighth lead change of the race. Beebe's lead at the checkers was .780 seconds with Sensiba second, Eddy third, Miller in fourth and Fair holding on to take fifth. The race was slowed by 8 cautions for a total of 58 laps.

John Kaiser -- The Autochannel

Berlin Raceway - Provisional results for the 
ASA ACDelco Challenge Series, 
Michigan 300:
Ps.Ql.No.  Driver , Car                                          Laps 
-- -- ---- ----------------------------------------------------- ----- 
 1   23  Rick Beebe      St Louis Gear/Royal Machine      PONT 300         

 2    6  Dave Sensiba    Engineered Polymer/W MI Auto AuctPONT 300         

 3   88  Mike Eddy       GM Goodwrench Service/HRE        PONT 300         

 4   18  Mike Miller     South East Air Service           PONT 300         

 5   81  Harold Fair     Car Quest/ACDelco/Victor Reinz   PONT 300         

 6   48  Joe Nott        Valvoline/Allan Nott Toyota/RaabeFORD 300         

 7   84  Bob Senneker    Lane Auto/JR Automation/Mr GasketFORD 300         

 8   51  Brandon Sperling Sperling Motorsports            CHEV 300         

 9   52  Scott Hansen    AFCO Racing Products             PONT 300         

10    1  Kevin Cywinski  Coleman Racing Products          PONT 300         

11   72  Junior Hanley   Skillman Motorsports             PONT 300         

12    8  Mike Garvey     AFCO Racing Products             PONT 300         

13   55  Tim Sauter (R)  Leo M/S/Wehr/Racing Adventures   PONT 300         

14   33  Brad Loney      Bunsaver/Hunter's Spec/Flexsteel PONT 300         

15   87  Steve Carlson(R)Baker Enterprises/Clean Burn     PONT 300         

16    4  Joe Bush        West Michigan Chevy Dealers      CHEV 300         

17    7  Gary St Amant   Wynn's/W Michigan Chevy Dealers  CHEV 299         

18    5  Steve Holzhausen Structural Transport            FORD 299         

19   32  Ted Smokstad    Corp. Auto/SMS Parts             PONT 298         

20   26  Bill Baird      Spee-Dee Pop Popcorn/Saturn Mach CHEV 297         

21   15  Dennis Berry    Eaglewood                        PONT 297         

22   07  Jack Landis     Adirondak/Lyndaker/Maisto/N.YoderFORD 296         

23   94  Donnie Varcoe   Lakeway/Midwest Bumper           CHEV 295         

24   11  Doug Mayr(R)    No Touch Car Care/Aqua Splash    CHEV 295         

25   97  Doug Vander     LA Spas/Van's Auto/D.J. Racing   CHEV 290         

26   16  Buddy Schrock   1-800-DEAL-USA                   FORD 286         

27   93  Alec Pinsonneault Build-A-Mold/Trimplas/Moldplas PONT 283         

28   80  Harold Fair Jr  GCF Motorsports                  CHEV 132         

29   98  Todd Forbes     Axle Handler/Ridgeway            FORD  86         

30   86  Aaron Hough     Lee's Inn and Suites             PONT  42         

31   79  Mike Cofer (R)  Black & Decker Versa Pack        PONT  32         

32   58  Billy Turner    Sanifill/Central Fiber           PONT  22         

(R)= Pat Schauer Memorial Rookie Candidate
Time of Race      : 1 hr 51 min 52 sec
Average Speed     : 70.477 mph
Margin of Victory : .708 sec
Lap Leaders       : Sauter, Beebe, Berry, St Amant, Sensiba, Eddy, H Fair
Cautions          : 8 for 58 laps
Track Length      :  0.5000 Miles

Pendleton, IN - Top 20 Provisional driver point standings after 12 of 20
events for the 1997 ASA ACDelco Challenge Series.

1.  Kevin Cywinski              2124
2.  Gary St Amant               1877 (-247)
3.  Rick Beebe                  1828 (-296)
4.  Scott Hansen                1826 (-298)
5.  Dave Sensiba                1806 (-318)
6.  Mike Miller                 1760 (-364)
7.  Stave Carlson (R)           1738 (-386)
8.  Mike Eddy                   1609 (-515)
9.  Harold Fair                 1602 (-522)
10. Tim Sauter (R)              1590 (-534)
11. Joe Nott                    1522 (-602)
12. Bob Senneker                1509 (-615)
13. Brandon Sperling            1489 (-635)
14. Ted Smokstad                1482 (-642)
15. Brad Loney                  1412 (-712)
16. Jack Landis                 1375 (-749)
17. Junior hanley               1369 (-755)
18. Steve Holzhausen            1348 (-776)
19. Mike Garvey                 1337 (-787)
20. Bill Baird                  1251 (-873)