The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

NASCAR Featherlite Modifieds Tour Stafford 150 Preview

27 August 1997

NASCAR Featherlite Modified Tour
Stafford 150
Stafford Motor Speedway

STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT - The 18th NASCAR Featherlite Modified Tour race of the 
season, the 8th Annual Stafford 150, is scheduled for Friday, Aug. 29, at the 
Stafford (CT) Motor Speedway.

 - Posted awards for the 150-lap race are $49,420.

 - Qualifying is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. The top-26 cars will advance to the 
feature with the remaining four positions available for provisional starting 
positions. The fastest qualifier will draw to determine the redraw of the top 
6, 8 or 10 qualifiers. 

 - This will be the 44th series race at Stafford since 1985.

 - The Stafford 150 will be the third of four series races at Stafford in 
1997. Mike Stefanik of Coventry, R.I., won the Carquest Spring Sizzler in 
April at Stafford. He also won the Connecticut Classic in May.

 - Stefanik is the defending champion of the Stafford 150. He also won this 
race in 1990. When the distance was 125 laps. Reggie Ruggiero is the only 
other current series driver with a victory in this event (1992).

 - Tim Connolly holds the track series qualifying record at 95.969 mph 
(18.756 seconds), set May 23, 1997. The 150-lap race record is 75.125 mph, 
(59 minutes, 54 seconds) established in May of 1992 by Reggie Ruggiero.

 - In the three previous NASCAR Featherlite Modified Tour races this season, 
(Riverhead 8/9, NHIS 8/17 and Watkins Glen 8/24) the race winners, (Mike 
Ewanitsko, Jan Leaty and Mike Stefanik) have also won the Busch Pole Award 
for being the fastest qualifier.

 - As of Aug. 25, 37 drivers had filed entries for the Stafford 150.

 - Since the beginning of the season, 95 different drivers have attempted to 
qualify for at least one NASCAR Featherlite Modified Tour race.

By NASCAR Public Relations