The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

SportsCar Grand Prix Presented by FAO Schwarz: Preview and Standings

17 September 1997

With four races left in the Professional SportsCar Racing (PSR) season the series heads to the state of Nevada for the "SportsCar Grand Prix presented by FAO SCHWARZ." Las Vegas Motorspeedway will be the site for the 2 hour Exxon World SportsCar race on Saturday September 20. The two-hour night race will culminate a week-end of racing that features all of the PSR sanctioned series. WSC, GT1-3, Ferrari Challenge, Black Magic Pro Series, and Endurance Cup for Street Stock.

The WSC field will be a record entry list of twenty-one (21) cars. Two new teams will be making their respective debuts in WSC. Paul Debban and Rich Grupp will be piloting Jim Downing's NEC Cellular sponsored Mazda Kudzu. Bill Dollahite and Anthony Lazzaro will compete in the Compaq sponsored Chevrolet Spice.

A big welcome will also be waiting for John Paul, Jr. The Vegas race marks his return to SportsCar racing since his incident at Indianapolis in May. How much seat time will of course be determined by his stamina.

The WSC drivers championship is still led by Dyson Ford driver Elliott-Forbes Robinson (152 points). His teammates James Weaver(144 points) and Butch Leitzinger(141 points) follow closely behind in second and third repectively. Axiom Ferrari driver Rob Morgan holds down fourth place with 136 points. The points battle closed tightly after the Mosport race. Forbes-Robinson dismal 12th place showing at Mosport allowed the other three drivers to catch up. Morgan's victory in the Ferrari was the greatest benefactor.

In the WSC Manufacturer's battle Ford still leads Ferrari 176-168. Ferrari gained 4 points based on Morgan's victory. During the entire season the two manufacturer's have never beem separated by more than 12 points. Oldsmobile holds down third place with 137 points.

The battle for GT-1 supremacy will get a little more interesting this week-end. At Mosport Porsche upped the ante with the Canadian debut of the Porsche 911 GT1. Andy Pilgrim and Dorsey Schroeder had a victorious outing in the Porsche 911 GT1. Their victory stopped the Panoz victory streak at two. In response to the challenge, Panoz announced that it would field a second entry at Vegas. The second car #96 will be piloted by David Brabham and Eric Bernard. Pilgrim holds a commanding lead 156-131 over his teammate/owner Jochen Rohr.

The manufacturer's battle between Porsche and Panoz will surely go down to the wire at Laguna Seca. Porsche still holds a commanding 23 point lead. But Panoz has continually whittled away at that lead. Also, Panoz did not debut their car until the second race of the season at Sebring. Three victories out of six races is not a bad showing.

The GT-2 series continues to be led by Larry Schumacher and John O'Steen in their Porsche GT-2. Another Porsche driver Franz Conrad closed up the points battle with a brilliant first place at Mosport. Schumacher and O'Steen had their worst showing of the season finishing fourth in class. Konrad has now posted three straight victories and has won four of the six races he has entered this year. With Konrad's victory Porsche locked up the manufacturer's championship.

The GT-3 series is led by Porsche driver David Murry with 145 points. BMW drivers Bill Auberlen and Javier Quiros follow closely in second with 142 points each. The manufacturer's series is led by BMW with 178 points.

WSC Championship (Top 5)

Driver                          Marque  Points
1)Elliott Forbes-Robinson       Ford    152
2)James Weaver                  Ford    144
3)Butch Leitzinger              Ford    141
4)Rob Morgan                    Ferrari 136
5)Eduardo Dibos                 Ferrari 122

WSC Championship Manufacturer's

Marque          Points  Victories
1)Ford          176     4
2)Ferrari       168     3
3)Oldsmobile    137     0
4)Mazda         104     0
5)BMW            47     47

GT-1 Championship (Top 5)

Driver                          Marque  Points  
1)Andy Pilgrim                  Porsche 156     
2)Jochen Rohr                   Porsche 131     
3)Roger Schramm                 Chevy   123     
4)Stu Hayner                    Chevy   123     
5)Doc Bundy                     Panoz   117

GT-1 Championship Manufacturer's

Marque          Points  Victories
1)Porsche       156     2
2)Panoz         133     3
3)Oldsmobile     92     1
4)Ford           78     0
5)Pontiac        54     0

GT-2 Championship (Top 5)

Driver                          Marque  Points
1)Larry Schumacher              Porsche 156
2)John O'Steen                  Porsche 156
3)Franz Konrad                  Porsche 153
4)Martin Snow                   Porsche 138
5)Will Pace                     Porsche 125

GT-2 Championship Manufacturer's

Marque          Points  Victories
1)Porsche       188      7
2)Saleen         41      0
3)Mazda          32      0
4)Pontiac        15      0

GT-3 Championship (Top 5)

Driver                          Marque  Points
1)David Murry                   Porsche 145
2)Bill Auberlen                 BMW     142
3)Javier Quiros                 BMW     142
4)Jim Matthews                  Porsche 140
5)Cort Wagner                   Porsche 122

GT-3 Championship Manufacturer's

Marque          Points  Victories
1)BMW           178     6
2)Porsche       156     1
3)Saleen         39     0
4)Nissan         35     0
5)Mazda          20     0

David Treffer -- The AutoChannel