The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

ARA Racefacts bulletin and Model Review (10/05/97)

6 October 1997


	Dale Jarrett (Ford Quality Care Yates Ford Thunderbird)
took his sixth 1997 NASCAR Winston Cup win in Sunday's
Charlotte UAW-GM 500.  With Bobby Labonte (Interstate
Batteries Gibbs Pontiac Grand Prix) second and Dale
Earnhardt (GM Goodwrench Plus RCR Chevrolet Monte Carlo)
third, all three Winston Cup marques finished in the Top
	Through twenty 1997 NASCAR Winston Cup "superspeedway"
(mile or greater oval) races, Jeff Gordon leads with seven
wins to four for Jarrett; Mark Martin has three, Jeff Burton
and Ricky Rudd two apiece.  Single superspeedway wins have
been scored by John Andretti and Ernie Irvan as eight
drivers have accounted for the 20 wins.  Ford has taken 13
of the 20 victories, Chevrolet 7.  Hendrick Racing has won 7
of the events, Roush and Yates five apiece, Rudd Racing two
and Cale Yarborough's team one.
	In the 13 1997 NASCAR Winston Cup "superspeedway"
events on ovals of 1.5-mile or greater (excluding the
"miles" and Darlington), Jeff Gordon's edge over Dale
Jarrett is only one victory, 4 to 3!  Mark Martin has two
wins, with one apiece for John Andretti, Jeff Burton, Ernie
Irvan, and Ricky Rudd as the same eight drivers have scored
the wins!  Ford leads Chevrolet, 9 to 4.  Hendrick and Yates
are tied with four wins apiece, followed by Roush with
three, with the Rudd and Yarborough teams at one each.
	Jimmy Spencer (ALL-PRO Bumper-to-Bumper Chevrolet Monte
Carlo) won Saturday's Charlotte ALL-PRO Bumper-to-Bumper 300
NASCAR Busch Grand National event over Mark Martin
(Winn-Dixie Roush Ford Thunderbird) and Tony Stewart (Shell
Gibbs Pontiac Grand Prix) as all three GN marques took a
spot in the Top Three!
	Spencer's victory was the seventh of his BGN career but
his first on a superspeedway; he won three "short-track"
events in 1989 (Hickory, Orange County, Myrtle Beach)
driving Buicks, two more "short-track" races in 1992 (Myrtle
Beach and Orange County) driving Oldsmobiles, and won at
Bristol in August of this season in his Chevrolet!
	Ford had won four consecutive Charlotte BGN events in
1995 and 1996 (Chad Little in May 1995, Mark Martin in
October 1995 and both 1996 events) but now Chevrolet has two
straight with Spencer's win joining Joe Nemechek's May
	There have been 17 BGN "superspeedway" (mile or greater
oval) events thus far in 1997 won by eleven drivers!  Mark
Martin leads with four wins followed by Randy Lajoie with
three and Elliott Sadler with two.  Single "superspeedway"
1997 BGN wins have been scored by Joe Bessey, Jeff Burton,
Jeff Green, Bobby Labonte, Mike McLaughlin, Joe Nemechek,
Steve Park, and Jimmy Spencer!  Chevrolet has taken eleven
1997 BGN "superspeedway" wins, Ford five, and Pontiac one!
	Andrea Montermini and Antonio Hermann (MOMO Ferrari
333SP) won last weekend's Pikes Peak SportsCar Exxon WSC
event, scoring Ferrari's fourth 1997 win, MOMO's second, and
giving the duo the honor of being 1997's first two-time
racewinning Ferrari WSC effort!
	The MOMO team is 1997's second multiple racewinning WSC
team, joining five-time winner Dyson Racing!
	Montermini's win was his second in only seven starts
(eight appearances; he was FQ but Did Not Start one event),
all in 1997!
	Andrea's efforts have produced four Top Three "Podium"
finishes, four Top Five finishes, and five Top Ten finishes. 
He has been Fast Qualifier 3 times and has set Fast Lap in
six races!
	Andrea now leads all 1997 WSC drivers with 3 FQs; he
also achieved the first 1997 WSC "Sweep" of FQ, Fast Lap,
and Victory!
	Hermann scored his third win in 16 Exxon series starts
(18.75%), the Pikes Peak WSC win joining the 1997 Lime Rock
WSC victory and his 1995 Sebring 12 Hours LeMans class win. 
His 16 starts have produced seven Top Three "Podium"
finishes, ten Top Five finishes, and 12 Top Ten finishes.
	When was the last time an Exxon "feature" had six
lead-lap finishers?  April 7, 1991 in the Miami 2 Hours! 
The six lead-lap finishers?  Winner Raul Boesel in the TWR
Jaguar, followed by Tom Kendall in a Chevrolet Spice, Geoff
Brabham in a Nissan GTP, James Weaver in a Porsche 962, Chip
Robinson in a Nissan GTP, and Bernd Schneider in a Porsche
	Andrea Montermini set Fast Lap for the MOMO Ferrari
team; the Fast Lap was the sixth of 1997 and of Andrea's
Exxon WSC career!
	Montermini's six Fast Laps in nine 1997 WSC races
establishes a new WSC season record, bettering the old mark
of four in a season first set by Wayne Taylor in 1995's
eleven-race season and equalled by Massimiliano Papis in
1996's ten-race season!
	The all-time record for Season Fast Lap Percentage in
the Exxon series' "top class" is 71.4%, established when
Peter Gregg took 10 of 14 possible GTX Fast Laps in 1978 and
equalled by Geoff Brabham with 10 of 14 possible GTP Fast
Laps in 1988!
	If Andrea Montermini takes the remaining two 1997 WSC
Fast Laps, he will finish with eight of eleven possible 1997
WSC Fast Laps, or 72.7%!
	Bill Auberlen and Boris Said led a BMW Top Five sweep
of GTS-3 at Pikes Peak as the PTG team finished 1-2-3!
	Auberlen's victory was the 12th of his Exxon series
career, all in GTS-3!  He has won 12 of 84 starts, a
racewinning percentage of 14.3%!
	Auberlen is now tied with teammates Derek Hill and
Javier Quiros for the honor of most 1997 GTS-3 wins at four
apiece; Said ranks next with 3!
	Bill is also tied with Said for 1997 GTS-3 leadership
in Top Five finishes (8) and with Hill and Quiros in 1997
GTS-3 Lead-Lap Finishes (5)!
	Auberlen's 12 GTS-3 wins rank tied for 7th on the
All-Time GTS-3 Wins list!
	Auberlen also set Fast Lap, tying him with Henry Taleb
for the honor of most 1997 GTS-3 Fast Laps (Las Vegas
unknown) with two apiece!
	Auberlen's Fast Lap was his 15th, tying him for
All-Time GTS-3 Fast Lap Leadership with Roger Mandeville!
	Boris Said's victory was his fourth in 22 Exxon starts,
an 18.2% racewinning percentage!


1:18 ERTL

Features Steerable Wheels, Opening Doors & Hood, Detailed
Chassis & Interior

	ERTL has produced a very colorful model of the Dodge
Super Bee in a bright yellow with black "Six Pack"
fiberglass hood and black rear "Super Bee" identifying
	The famed Super Bee was based on the Dodge Coronet. 
The model features the standard bench seats; bucket seats
were optional.  The model's interior is black with a
fully-detailed dashboard.
	The model accurately portrays the fiberglass hood; the
car's hood lifted off completely after four chrome hood pins
were pulled!  The model hood lifts off also; the hood is
black plastic (closely resembling fiberglass) and reveals
the detailed engine and engine compartment.
	The Super Bee featured a trio of two-barrel Holleys
atop an aluminum Edelbrock intake manifold.  The "Six Pack"
name popularized the engine.  It produced 390 horsepower at
4700 rpm and 390 foot pounds of torque at 3600 rpm.  The
Super Bee weighed nearly 4000 pounds but produced a
quarter-mile ET of 13.6 seconds at 105 mph on its G70 X 15
Redstreak tires!
	Chrysler's 426 hemi was the top Super Bee engine
	The undercarriage is very well-detailed and includes
the dual exhaust system.

Model length: 11.25 inches  Width: 3.75 inches  Height: 3

Ertl P.O. Box 500 Dyersville, IA 52040-0500

	Our website at
provides a wealth of useful and interesting auto racing