The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

HAV-A-TAMPA Shootout at Dixie Speedway: Report and Results - Moyer Crowned Champion

13 October 1997

Woodstock, GA - Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR, became the 1997
National Dirt Late Model Champion, his first ever sanctioned
championship after years of 'outlaw' racing as he sped to victory in
the 1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Shootout at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock,
GA. Moyer, who started from the pole in the rain delayed event,
withstood challenges from Scott Bloomquist, Ronnie Johnson, Rick
Eckert and Donnie Moran to take the $49,600 winner's check in the
star-studded event. Moran finished in second with Bloomquist, Rick
Aukland, and Eckert rounding out the top five.

"This was our goal," an elated Moyer said from Victory Lane. "To win the Shootout to go with the Championship. It has been a total team effort and to end it with a big win like this race makes it even better."

Moyer's win, his 10th of the year on the HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series tour, boosted his season winnings to over $250,000 in Series sanctioned events. The victory was not easy as four cautions over the last 17 laps allowed Moran to close up on his bumper and challenge for the lead. Moyer was up to the task and held on to claim the prize.

The race was slowed by 10 cautions including a first lap incident that involved the cars of John Gill, Jack Boggs and Clint Smith. Boggs and Smith were able to continue but for the hapless Gill, his race was over. Boggs would eventually retire on lap 20 while Smith would complete 88 laps before giving up on the hopes of earning the bonus for winning both the Dixie Speedway events.

Moyer's win would also secure the Dunn-Benson Ford Crew Chief Award for GVS Racing chief Ronnie Stuckey. Moran claimed the season-long Hard Charger Award, while Earl Pearson Jr was the 1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Rookie of the Year. Awards will be handed out at the season-ending banquet in mid-November.

John Kaiser -- The Auto Channel

Pos Driver                 Hometown              Laps     Purse
1.  Billy Moyer            Batesville, AR        100     $49600
2.  Donnie Moran           Dresden, OH           100      14650
3.  Scott Bloomquist       Mooresburg, TN        100       8000
4.  Rick Aukland           Fargo, ND             100       6375
5.  Rick Eckert            York, PA              100       6100
6.  Marshall Green         Dalton, GA            100       5450
7.  Mark Miner             Stockbridge, GA       100       4350
8.  Freddy Smith           Knoxville, TN         100       9250
9.  Dale McDowell          Rossville, GA         100       3850
10. Skip Arp               Georgetown, TN        100       3450
11. Ray Cook               Murphy, NC             99       2300
12. Terry Phillips         Sprinfield, MO         99       1900
13. Randle Chupp           Knoxville, TN          99       1800
14. Steve Francis          Ashland, KY            99       2050
15. Clayton Christenberry  Knoxville, TN          99       1600
16. Dewayne Hughes         Dalton, GA             99       1590
17. Earl Pearson Jr        Jacksonville, FL       99       1680
18. Vernon Smith           Rome, GA               99       1570
19. Ronnie Johnson         Chattanooga, TN        91       1560
20. Wendell Wallace        Batesville, AR         90       4000
21. Bill Frye              Greenbrier, AR         90       2340
22. Clint Smith            Griffin, GA            88       2380
23. David Gibson           Ash Flat, AR           83       1520
24. Frank Ingram           Acworth, GA            24       1510
25. Jack Boggs             Grayson, KY            20       1900
26. John Gill              Mitchell, IN            1       1500

ISKY Racing Cams Fast Gun Award - Billy Moyer 15.374 seconds
ISKY Racing Cams Fast Gun Dash Winner - Freddy Smith

1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Dirt Racing Series National Champion - Billy Moyer
1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Rookie of the Year                   - Earl Pearson, Jr
1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Hard Charger of the Year             - Donnie Moran
1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Chassis Manufacturer's Championship  - GRT Race Cars
1997 HAV-A-TAMPA Dunn-Benson Ford Crew Chief Award    - Ronnie Stuckey

1.  Billy Moyer              4963
2.  Wendell Wallace          4751
3.  Freddy Smith             4544
4.  Donnie Moran             4449
5.  Dale McDowell            4263
6.  Skip Arp                 4212
7.  Clint Smith              4184
8.  Marshall Green           3917
9.  Ray Cook                 3620
10. Johnny Virden            3474