The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

ACRA 200 Champion Posted the Fastest Speed During ACRA Series Testing at Daytona International Speedway

22 December 1997

    DAYTONA BEACH, FL. - 1995 and defending Daytona ARCA 200 champion Andy
Hillenburg posted the fastest speed on the first of three days of ARCA
Series testing Saturday at Daytona International Speedway. Hillenburg was
one of 14 drivers to post times during the test as ARCA teams prepare for
their season-opening Daytona ARCA 200 to be held Feb. 8 in conjunction with
the all new Bud Shootout At Daytona.

    Hillenburg, driving the No. 80 Ford Thunderbird. was clocked at 48.9
seconds, for an average speed of 184.049 mph.

    Hillenburg, who made his first big splash into professional auto racing
in 1995 with his Daytona ARCA 200 victory, plans to become only the second
driver to win the event three times. The only three-time champion of the
Daytona ARCA 200 is Iggy Katona who won the event in 1965,1971 and 1974.

    "We're real happy so far," said Hillenburg. "This crew has really done
a terrific job of preparing the car. Once we start focusing more on engine
tuning and aerodynamics, I feel like we can get even more from the car.
Right now we're just looking at how the car rides. So far we're real
pleased, I can't remember when we have unloaded this good.

    "I love Daytona, this is my favorite race track. I love coming here and
I love driving here. I figure with all the testing and including Speedweeks
events I'll be on the race track 25 to 30 days this year and that's a great
feeling. I can't wait to come back and try to defend my title. I've been
fortunate enough to win the 200 twice, and I'd like to be one of only two
drivers ever to win it three times."

    The test continues Sunday and Monday. A section of the Oldfield
Grandstand is open daily at no charge from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with access
through DAYTONA USA, "The Ultimate Motorsports Attraction." Guided Speedway
Tours are also available from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. for a nominal fee.


Ps.No.  Driver               Make  Lap Time M.P.H. -- ----
-------------------- ----  -------- -------
 1  80  Andy Hillenburg      Ford  0:48.900 184.049
 2  52  Bill Baird           Chev  0:49.300 182.556
 3   5  Bobby Gerhart        Chev  0:49.600 181.452
 4  55  Russell Landrum      Ford  0:49.800 180.723
 5  59  Mark Gibson          Ford  0:50.200 179.283
 6  74  Gary Laton           Chev  0:50.200 179.283
 7  31  Randal Ritter        Chev  0:50.600 177.866
 8  65  Sammy Potashnick     Chev  0:50.800 177.165
 9  11  Glen Morgan          Chev  0:51.000 176.471 10  53  Bob Kelly      
     Chev  0:51.500 174.757 11  08  John Kinder          Chev  0:51.600
174.419 12  93  Wayne Larson         Chev  0:52.300 172.084 13  67  Rob
Julian           Chev  0:52.300 172.084 14  44  Greg Usher           Chev 
0:52.700 170.778

Track Length      :  2.5000 Miles

*Electronic times taken randomly throughout the day

 Mike Snow -- The Auto Channel