The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

USRRC: USRRC Champions Crowned

3 September 1998

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (September 2, 1998) -- The United States Road Racing Championship has announced the conclusion of its 1998 season, crowning Drivers, Teams and Manufacturers Champions.

"We do regret not being able to award these Championships at Watkins Glen, as there was still a great amount of uncertainty regarding an event at Laguna Seca later this year," said Alan Wilson, General Manager of the USRRC. "These issues have been resolved, and while we will not be racing at Laguna Seca, were pleased to have accomplished the five-race schedule as it was initially planned. We would like to thank and congratulate everyone involved in this inaugural season of the USRRC."

Full season wrap-ups for each individual class will be released shortly, and an awards ceremony is being planned in honor of the 1998 Champions. Details will be forthcoming.

The USRRC would like to recognize the following 1998 Champions: Can-Am Drivers Champion, James Weaver; Can-Am Manufacturers Champion, Ford; Can-Am Teams Champion, Dyson Racing. GT1 Drivers Champion, Thierry Boutsen; GT1 Manufacturers Champion, Porsche; GT1 Teams Champion, Visteon Panoz Racing Team. GT2 Drivers Co-Champions, Scott Sansone and Cameron Worth; GT2 Manufacturers Champion, Porsche; GT2 Teams Champion, Pettit Racing. GT3 Drivers Champion, Ross Bentley; GT3 Manufacturers Champion, BMW; GT3 Teams Champion, Prototype Technology Group.