The Auto Channel
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
The Largest Independent Automotive Research Resource
Official Website of the New Car Buyer

Skip Barber Trained Drivers Capture 10 Major Championships

22 November 1998

LAKEVILLE, Conn. - The Skip Barber Racing School, the World's Best Racing and Driving School, lived up to its reputation on race tracks around the world in 1998.

Skip Barber trained drivers claimed 10 series championships and posted more than 140 major victories in 33 different racing divisions this season.

The list of Skip Barber trained drivers who captured championships include Jeff Gordon (NASCAR Winston Cup); Kenny Brack (Indy Racing League); Juan Pablo Montoya (FIA Formula 3000); Butch Leitzinger (Professional Sports Car Racing World Sports Car); and Paul Gentilozzi (SCCA Pro Racing NTB Trans-Am). Another Skip Barber trained driver, Tony Kanaan, won the prestigious Jim Trueman Rookie of the Year award in the CART FedEx Championship Series.

Montoya, who drove in the Barber Saab Pro Series in 1994, recently was named to fill one of the most sought after seats in racing. Montoya is replacing Alex Zanardi and will drive for Target/Chip Ganassi Racing, the three-time defending champions in the CART FedEx Championship Series, in 1999. This season, Montoya served as the official test driver for the Winfield Williams Formula One team.

During his championship-winning run, Brack, the 1993 Barber Saab Pro Series champion, became the first driver to win three consecutive IRL races. Another Skip Barber graduate, Mike Stefanik, became the first driver to win two NASCAR touring division championships in the same year on more than one occasion. Stefanik won the NASCAR Busch North Series and Featherlite Modified Series titles in 1997 and '98.

Whether the forum was formula cars, sports cars, open-wheel racecars or oval track racing, Skip Barber graduates drove their way to victory lane. Skip Barber grads won in NASCAR Winston Cup, Busch Grand National and the Craftsman Truck Series; the CART FedEx Championship Series; the IRL; PPG-Dayton Indy Lights; Toyota Atlantic; SCCA Can-Am; Sports Car WSC and GT; FIA Formula 3000; and Formula Vauxhall Junior.

"We've been fortunate to have some of the best drivers in the world train and race with us over the years," said Skip Barber, president of the Skip Barber Racing School. "We're proud of what they've gone on to accomplish in their racing careers."

The Skip Barber Racing School conducts a variety of courses from one-day driving schools to five-day racing schools and Advanced Activities. Skip Barber also runs the Formula Dodge Race Series, the largest open-wheel amateur championship in North America, and the Barber Dodge Pro Series, an internationally recognized professional open-wheel series.

For more information about the Skip Barber Racing School call 1-800-221-1131 or visit our web site at

            Skip Barber Racing School
            1998 Skip Barber Trained
            Championship Drivers

1. Jeff Gordon NASCAR Winston Cup 2. Kenny Brack Indy Racing League 3. Juan Pablo Montoya FIA Formula 3000 4. Tony Kanaan CART FedEx Championship Series Jim Trueman Rookie of the Year 5. Butch Leitzinger Professional Sports Car Racing WSC 6. Paul Gentilozzi SCCA NTB Trans-Am 7. Ross Bentley USRRC GT3 8. Jeff Simmons Barber Dodge Pro Series 9. Mike Stefanik NASCAR Busch North Series & Featherlite Modified Series 10. Antonio Pizzonia Formula Vauxhall Junior